(Turkey) Hamburger Glop-o

April 16, 2011

For my bridal shower (almost 2 years ago), my sweet mother made me a book of family recipes.

Last night I decided to try a childhood favorite, Hamburger Glop-o!  (My father named it, haha.) It’s so quick, easy, healthy & colorful. I think we need to make it a regular. The recipe is pretty healthy on it’s own, but I replaced beef with turkey and white rice with brown. It makes 8 1-cup servings.

Ingredients:

  • 1.2 pounds ground turkey
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 T chili powder (or more/less to taste)
  • 1 15 oz can corn, drained
  • 1 28 oz can whole tomatoes, broken apart, with juice
  • 1 c chicken broth
  • 1 small green pepper, chopped
  • 1 1/2 c Minute (Instant) brown rice, uncooked

In a large pan, cook ground turkey just until it loses its pink color. Drain well. Add onion, chili powder, corn, tomatoes, broth and peppers. Continue cooking until mixture just comes to a boil. Add uncooked rice. Stir. Cover and simmer on low for 10 minutes. Enjoy!

 

Nutritional Info (for each 1-cup serving)
  • Calories: 225.2
  • Total Fat: 6.4 g
  • Cholesterol: 50.6 mg
  • Sodium: 405.5 mg
  • Total Carbs: 26.7 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 2.9 g
  • Protein: 17.3 g
I enjoyed with a cerveza…
And a salad with goddess dressing.
mmmm!
Here’s yesterday’s foods!
While I’m finally uploading images, here’s how I’ve been tracking things:
OK, off to have a day!  Busy busy today!  Have to clean the house, get an oil change, get started on some of my semester-end projects/papers, and get ready to go out to celebrate my best friend’s birthday!  Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment