Crunchie Lunchie

February 19, 2010

I know I said that I wasn’t going to blog most of my meals now, but I was particularly proud of the lunch I packed today. A normal lunch for me is last night’s dinner leftovers thrown over some plain spinach or rolled up in a wrap. This morning I took the extra 3 minutes to chop up some different veggies to include, and it made a world of difference!  This may sound like such a basic thing, but it got me excited about my colorful, crunchy salad!

I was all ready to apologize for the poor quality and lighting of the photo, but looks like my phone did a decent job!  Love my droid 🙂

My salad contained:

  • Spinach & spring salad mix
  • 1 chopped bell pepper
  • 1 chopped carrot
  • some low-fat feta cheese
  • 3 slices of turkey breast (deli meat)
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar

In other news, I’ve noticed a surprise on the scale this week.  Since the new year, I was working out a TON, sometimes 3 hours a day, but my weight has stayed stable (at about 5 lbs heavier than my normal weight, which is 25 pounds heavier than my healthy weight). But now for the past 2 weeks, I’ve done little more than my 1/2 marathon training (and heck, I missed last weekend’s long run!), and I’ve lost 4 pounds!

I know that there was some buzz around this Time article last year which showed that exercise does not cause weight loss. My reaction to the article was “DUH!  If you do something to make you hungrier, but do not control your calorie intake, you will eat more!”  I assumed that this article was irrelevant to my life because I knew how to watch what i ate. But maybe I was wrong. Maybe I am sneaking in more foods when I work out excessively. Or maybe I’m not refueling enough and that’s messing with my muscles. Either way, I am going to experiment with shorter, more intense workout sessions.  I believe SOME exercise is essential to weight loss and maintenance.  And even if it weren’t, I would still work out because there are a bajillion other healthy benefits, and I’m finally at a point in my life where I love it! So I still plan on following my training plan and adding other fun workouts (BodyPump, BodyStep, spinning, 30 day shred), but I won’t do more than 90 minutes a day.

That is all.  Happy weekend all!

Leave a Reply

